LICENSING COMMITTEE

WEDNESDAY 1 JUNE 2011 AT 2.11

PRESENT: Councillor Morton (Chairman) Councillors Bell, Cape,
Craig (as substitute for Cllr Mrs Robson), Mrs Franklin,
Layden, Morton, Mrs Parsons, Stothard (as substitute for
Wilson) Tootle, Mrs Warwick and Whalen

Cllr

LC.11/11 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillors Nedved, Mrs Robson, Mrs Vasey and Wilson.

LC.12/11 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest submitted.

LC.13/11 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

RESOLVED – That the minutes of the meetings held on 23 March 2011 be agreed as a correct record of the meetings and signed by the Chairman.

LC.14/11 UPDATE ON LICENSING ACT 2003

The Licensing Manager presented report GD.40/11 giving Members an update on the applications under the Licensing Act 2003.

The Licensing Manager reported on the licence figures as at 20 May 2011.

The Licensing Manager added that the Police reform and Social responsibility Bill was at the committee stage and feedback was expected in the near future.

The Licensing Manager informed the Panel that the fourth annual Best Bar None accreditations had been launched in January 2011. The Award Ceremony had been held in the Crown and Mitre Hotel on 24 May 2011 and the joint overall winners were Outrageous and the Crown, Stanwix.

RESOLVED – That Report GD.40/11 be noted.

LC.15/11 GAMBLING ACT 2005 –UPDATE

The Licensing Manager presented report GD.41/11 giving Members an update on applications made under the Gambling Act 2005.

The Licensing Manager highlighted the licence figures as at 20 May 2011.

As ongoing enforcement, officers were visiting local gambling premises to meet managers and answer any queries under the new legislation and were also carrying out inspections, many in conjunction with the regional Compliance Manager from the Gambling Commission.

RESOLVED – 1) That Report GD.41/11 be noted.

LC.16/11 APPOINTMENT TO LICENSING SUB COMMITTEES

Consideration was given to the amendment of the appointment of Members to serve on the four Licensing Sub-Committees. A copy of the schedule showing the group amendments to those four sub-committees had been circulated. It was moved, seconded and

RESOLVED – That the schedules setting out the appointment of Members to serve on the four Licensing Sub-Committees for Municipal Year 2011/12, as set out below, be approved.

	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL	INDEPENDENT
Licensing Sub–Committee 1 (3)	1 Morton	1 Wilson	DEMOCRAT 1 Tootle	GROUP
	Sub: Layden	Sub: Bell Sub: Cape		
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Licensing Sub–Committee 2 (3)	1 Layden 2 Vasey	1 Franklin	DEMOCITATI	GNOOI
	Sub: Parsons Sub: Robson	Sub: Whalen		
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Licensing Sub–Committee 3 (3)	1 Parsons	1 Bell 2 Warwick	DEMOCITATI	GIVOOI
	Sub: Vasey	Sub: Wilson	Sub: Tootle	
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Licensing Sub-Committee 4 (3)	1 Robson	1 Cape 2 Whalen	DEMOCRAT	GROUP
	Sub: Morton	Sub: Franklin Sub: Warwick		
(The meeting ended at 2.13pm)				