

Licensing Committee
Date: Wednesday, 20 April 2022
Venue: Flensburg Room

Time: 14:35

**Present:** Councillor Mrs Marilyn Bowman, Councillor John Collier, Councillor Keith Meller, Councillor Mrs Linda Mitchell, Councillor David Morton, Councillor Peter Sunter, Councillor Dr Les Tickner, Councillor Miss Jeanette Whalen, Councillor Mrs Elizabeth Mallinson (for Councillor Stephen Higgs)

Officers: Assistant Solicitor Licensing Manager

# LC.09/22 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillor Stephen Higgs, Councillor David Shepherd and Councillor Lee Sherriff.

# LC.10/22 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest submitted.

# LC.11/22 PUBLIC AND PRESS

RESOLVED - It was agreed that the items in Part A be dealt with in public and the items in private be dealt with in Part B.

## LC.12/22 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

RESOLVED - It was noted that Council, at its meeting of 1 March 2022, received and adopted the minutes of the meetings held on 27 October and 1 December 2021. The Chair signed the minutes.

## LC.13/22 LICENSING ACT 2003 UPDATE

The Licensing Manager submitted report GD.22/22 which provided the current position regarding applications under the Licensing Act 2003. She reported on the licence figures as at 5 April 2022. The report detailed the New Premises Licenses and Temporary Event Notices which had been issued during the reporting period.

RESOLVED - That the Licensing Act 2023 Update be noted (GD.22/22)

## LC.14/22 GAMBLING ACT 2005 UPDATE

The Licensing Manager submitted the Gambling Act 2005 Update (GD.23/22) which gave an update on the current position regarding licenses, permits and application made under the Act.

The Licensing Manager highlighted the licence figures as at 5 April 2022.

RESOLVED - That the Gambling Act 2005 - Update GD.06/22 be noted.

# LC.15/22 LICENSING SUB COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

The Licensing Manager submitted the schedule of Members appointed to serve on the Licensing Sub Committees following changes made at Council on 1 March 2022.

RESOLVED - That the schedule setting out the appointment of Members to serve on the four Licensing Sub-Committees for the Municipal Year 2021/22, following changes made on 1 March 2022, as set out below, be approved:

### Licensing Sub Committee 1 (3)

Conservative Group: Bowman, Mitchell, Higgs (sub), Shepherd (sub) Labour Group: Sherriff, Sunter (sub)

### Licensing Sub Committee 2 (3)

Conservative Group: Meller, Morton, Bowman (sub), Mitchell (sub) Labour Group: Sunter, Tickner (sub)

### Licensing Sub Committee 3 (3)

Conservative Group: Higgs, Collier, Meller (sub) Labour Group: Tickner, Whalen (sub) Independent and Liberal Democrat Group: Bomford (sub)

## Licensing Sub Committee 4 (3)

Conservative Group: Shepherd, Morton (sub, Collier (sub) Labour Group: Whalen, Sherriff (sub) Independent and Liberal Democrat Group: Bomford

The Meeting ended at: 14:38