EXCERPT FROM THE MINUTES OF THE EXECUTIVE HELD ON 31 MAY 2013

EX.60/13 REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES

(Non Key Decision)

Portfolio All Areas

Relevant Overview and Scrutiny Panel Community; Environment and Economy;

and Resources

Subject Matter

The Deputy Leader and Economy and Enterprise Portfolio Holder presented Report GD.28/13 seeking the nomination of Members to serve on various outside bodies. He pointed out that a number of issues had arisen following the loss of the Leader of the Council.

The Deputy Leader moved the recommendations as set, subject to:

- the nomination of a Member(s) to fill the vacancies left by the late Leader of the Council would remain in abeyance for the time being
- Councillors Weber and Stothard would serve on the Carlisle Leisure Limited Board
- Further to publication of the report, Councillor Boaden had indicated that he was
 no longer available to serve on the Botcherby Community Centre Management
 Committee nor the Carlisle and District Citizens' Advice Bureau Trustee
 Management Committee. The vacancies on both of those organisations would
 be filled in due course.
- As a result of the recent transfer of the Highways Claimed Rights back to the County Council, the City Council had been allocated two places on the Highways and Transport Working Group. Councillors Mrs Martlew and Mrs Stevenson would serve on that Group.

The Finance, Governance and Resources Portfolio Holder seconded the recommendations as amended, which were agreed.

Summary of options rejected None

DECISION

That the City Council's representatives on the following outside bodies be as indicated:

Outside Body	Representation
Belah Community Centre Management Committee	Councillors Ellis, Morton and Mrs Vasey
Botcherby Community Centre Management Committee	Councillors Betton and Scarborough; one vacancy
Brampton and Beyond Trust (previously Brampton Community Association)	Councillor Layden
Business Improvement District Board of Directors	Councillor Glover
Carlisle and District Citizens' Advice Bureau Trustee Management Committee	Councillor Earp; one vacancy
Carlisle and Eden Crime and Disorder Reduction Partnership Leadership Group	Councillor Mrs Riddle; Councillor Mrs Stevenson (as substitute)
Carlisle Educational Charity	No requirement for nominations in 2013
Carlisle Leisure Limited Board	Councillors Weber and Stothard
Carlisle Sports Council	Councillor Cape
Carlisle Tourism Partnership	Councillor Ms Quilter
Conservation Area Advisory Committee	Councillor Mrs Martlew
Cumbria Equality Champions' Group (NOTE: the primary aim of the Group is to ensure that County and District Councils collaborate on understanding Equality and make sure that elected Members have peer support in meeting the Public Sector Equality Duty)	Councillor Tickner
Cumbria Health Scrutiny Committee (NOTE: This is a joint Scrutiny Committee comprising representatives of the six District Councils in Cumbria and Cumbria County Council. The terms of reference require that Members should be full serving Members of Overview and Scrutiny Panels)	Councillor Bowditch; Councillor Watson (as substitute)

Cumbria Law Centre Management Councillor Mrs Riddle; Committee Councillor Mrs Stevenson (as substitute) Cumbria Leadership Board One vacancy Councillor Glover (as substitute) Cumbria Planning Group Councillor Glover Cumbria Playing Fields Association – Councillor Scarborough **Executive Committee** Cumbria Strategic Waste Partnership Councillor Mrs Martlew; Councillor Stothard (as substitute) **Currock Community Centre Management** Councillors Mrs Bradley, Glover and Harid Committee Councillors P Atkinson, McDevitt and Denton Holme Community Centre Management Committee Mrs Southward The District Council's Network Assembly One vacancy (NOTE: The DCN's constitution states that the Councillor Glover (as substitute) representative is usually the Leader of the Council or someone in an equivalent position) **Downagate Community Centre** Councillor Graham Management Committee Friends of Tullie House Museum and Art Councillor Mrs Martlew Gallery **Greystone Community Association** Councillor Ms Quilter

Greystone Community Association

Hadrian's Wall World Heritage Site
Management Plan Committee

Councillor Ms Quilter;
Councillor Ms Sherriff (as substitute)

Harraby Community Centre Management
Committee

Councillors Forrester, Miss Sherriff and
Weber

Highways and Transport Working Group Councillor Mrs Martlew Councillor Mrs Stevenson

Local Authority World Heritage Forum Councillor Ms Quilter;
Councillor Miss Sherriff (as substitute)

Local Government Association – General

Assembly

One vacancy

Councillor Glover (as substitute)

Local Government Association – Rural

Commission

Councillors Tickner and Ms Quilter

(NOTE: The Council is entitled to nominate two representatives, either two Members or one Member and one Officer with the first named Member being allocated the Council's vote on the Commission)

Local Government Association – Urban Commission

(NOTE: The Council is entitled to nominate two representatives, either two Members or one Member and one Officer, with the first named Member being allocated the Council's vote on the Commission)

Councillors Tickner and Ms Quilter

Local Government Information Unit

Longtown Community Centre Management Committee

Councillors Bloxham, J Mallinson and Mrs

Prest

Mary Hannah Almshouses

Councillors Ellis (until March 2016), Mrs Vasey (Until March 2016) and Morton

(until June 2017)

Morton Community Centre Management Committee

Councillors Bell, Mrs Stevenson and Stothard

National Association of Councillors -**English Region**

Councillor Mrs Riddle

Councillor Tickner

National Association of Councillors

Councillor Mrs Riddle

North Pennines Area of Outstanding

Natural Beauty Partnership

TBC

North West Local Authorities Employers

Organisation

Councillor Glover;

Councillor Tickner (as substitute)

North West Regional Housing Forum

Councillor Mrs Riddle

PATROL (Parking and Traffic Regulations Outside London) Adjudication Joint

Committee)

Councillor Mrs Martlew;

Councillor Bell (as substitute)

Petteril Bank Community Centre Management Committee

Councillors Cape, Mrs Warwick and

Wilson

Riverside Carlisle Board

(NOTE: Council representatives can remain on the Riverside Board for a maximum of 9 years. Appointments or removals have been made in writing by the City Council to the Secretary of the Carlisle Housing Association Board)

Councillors Bainbridge (since 2012), one vacancy, Layden (since 2008) and Mrs Luckley (since 2012)

Settle – Carlisle Railway Development

Company

Councillor Scarborough

Solway Coast Area of Outstanding Natural

Beauty Joint Advisory Committee

Councillor Tickner

Solway Firth Partnership Board One vacancy

Stanwix Community Association Councillor Nedved

Tullie House Museum and Art Gallery

Trust Board

Councillor Tickner; Councillor J Mallinson

West Coast Rail 250 Councillor Mrs Martlew

Yewdale Community Centre Committee Councillors Bowditch, Mrs Atkinson and

one vacancy

Cumbria Health and Wellbeing Board Councillor Ms Quilter

Reasons for Decision

To make appointments to Outside Bodes for 2013/14