

# **ISLE** Governance Directorate

Director of Governance : M D Lambert LLB (Hons) MBA Civic Centre Carlisle CA3 8QG Telephone (01228) 817000 Fax (01228) 817072 Document Exchange Quote DX 63037 Carlisle Type talk 18001 01228 817000

### TO: THE MAYOR AND MEMBERS OF THE CITY COUNCIL

Please ask for:Mrs DurhamDirect Line:01228 817036E-mail:Morag.Durham@carlisle.gov.ukYour ref:MD

4 June 2014

Dear Member

# **RE: ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING – MONDAY 9 JUNE 2014**

I refer further to the Summons and papers recently circulated in respect of the Annual Council Meeting arranged for **Monday 9 June 2014 at 11.00 am**, and now enclose Schedule detailing Group nominations for the appointment of Members to Committees and Panels 2014/15 (Item 7(i) refers).

Yours faithfully

Director of Governance

#### COMMITTEES AND PANELS (TO BE APPOINTED BY COUNCIL) 2014/15

	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Regulatory Panel (12)	<ol> <li>Bowman S</li> <li>Layden</li> <li>Morton</li> <li>Parsons</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Bell</li> <li>Cape</li> <li>Franklin</li> <li>Scarborough</li> <li>Stevenson</li> <li>Warwick</li> <li>Wilson</li> </ol>		1 Betton
	Sub: Collier Sub: Nedved Sub: Prest	Sub: Boaden Sub: Dodd Sub: Stothard		Sub: Graham
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Licensing Committee (12)	<ol> <li>Bowman S</li> <li>Layden</li> <li>Morton</li> <li>Parsons</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Bell</li> <li>Cape</li> <li>Franklin</li> <li>Scarborough</li> <li>Stevenson</li> <li>Warwick</li> <li>Wilson</li> </ol>		1 Betton
	Sub: Collier Sub: Nedved Sub: Prest	Sub: Boaden Sub: Dodd Sub: Stothard		Sub: Graham

The Council on 15 December 2004 under Minute C.246/04(b) resolved to establish a Licensing Committee to undertake the Licensing functions referred to in the Licensing Act 2003 with the same Members and substitutes as the Regulatory Panel.

	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Development Control Committee (12)	<ol> <li>Bloxham</li> <li>Earp</li> <li>Parsons</li> <li>Prest</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Bradley</li> <li>Caig</li> <li>McDevitt</li> <li>Patrick</li> <li>Scarborough</li> <li>Warwick</li> <li>Whalen</li> </ol>	1 Gee	
	Sub: Bowman S Sub: Collier Sub: Nedved	Sub: Bowditch Sub: Stevenson Sub: Wilson	Sub: Allison	

Government Guidance suggests that the Executive Member with responsibility for the Local Plan should be on the Development Control Committee although he/she should not normally be the Chairman

	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Community Overview and Scrutiny Panel (8)	1 Ellis 2 Prest 3 Vasey	<ol> <li>Burns</li> <li>Harid</li> <li>McDevitt</li> <li>Stevenson</li> </ol>	1 Gee	
	Sub: Bainbridge Sub: McKerrell Sub: Mallinson E	Sub: Caig Sub: Scarborough Sub: Sherriff	Sub: Allison	
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Resources Overview and Scrutiny Panel (8)	<ol> <li>Bowman S</li> <li>Higgs</li> <li>Mallinson J</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Atkinson</li> <li>Caig</li> <li>McDevitt</li> <li>Watson</li> </ol>	1 Allison	
	Sub: Bainbridge Sub: Parsons Sub: Prest	Sub: Bowditch Sub: Dodd Sub: Patrick	Sub: Gee	
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Environment & Economy Overview and Scrutiny Panel	<ol> <li>Bowman M</li> <li>Mitchelson</li> <li>Nedved</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Dodd</li> <li>Watson</li> <li>Whalen</li> <li>Wilson</li> </ol>		1 Graham
(8)	Sub: Mallinson E Sub: McKerrell Sub: Vasey	Sub: Burns Sub: Caig Sub: Harid		Sub: Betton
Executive Members cannot be members of Overview and Scrutiny Panels				
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Employment Panel (6)	<ol> <li>Mallinson J</li> <li>Mitchelson</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Burns</li> <li>Glover</li> <li>Stothard</li> <li>Weber</li> </ol>		
	Sub: Bloxham Sub: Geddes	Sub: Bradley Sub: Franklin Sub: Martlew		

# One Executive Member must be a member of the Employment Panel

	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Audit Committee (7)	1 Earp 2 Layden 3 Mallinson E	<ol> <li>Atkinson</li> <li>Bowditch</li> <li>Franklin</li> <li>Patrick</li> </ol>		

Sub:	Bowman S	Sub:	Boaden
Sub:	Geddes	Sub:	Whalen
Sub:	Parsons	Sub:	Wilson

# No member of the Executive and no Chair of Overview and Scrutiny Panels will be eligible to be a Member of the Audit Committee

	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Appeals Panel No 1	1 Geddes	1 Boaden		1 Graham
(3)	Sub: Vasey	Sub: Atkinson		Sub: Betton
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Appeals Panel No 2 (3)	1 Bloxham	1 Caig 2 Harid		
(3)	Sub: Ellis	Sub: Stevenson Sub: Warwick		
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Appeals Panel No 3 (3)	1 Collier	1 Bell 2 Stothard		
	Sub: Mitchelson	Sub: Bowditch Sub: Patrick		
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Standards Committee (7)	<ol> <li>Bowman M</li> <li>Mallinson E</li> <li>Parsons</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Boaden</li> <li>Franklin</li> <li>Stothard</li> <li>Tickner</li> </ol>		
	Sub: Geddes Sub: Mallinson J Sub: Nedved	Sub: Atkinson Sub: Bradley Sub: Martlew		

## **COMMITTEES / GROUPS NOT APPOINTED BY COUNCIL**

The following Sub-Committees are appointed by the Licensing Committee:

It is suggested that each Member of the Licensing Committee is appointed as a Member and a substitute on one of the Licensing Sub-Committees. These groupings will enable all Members of the Licensing Committee to have a role as both a Member and a substitute on one of the Licensing Sub-Committees.

	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Licensing Sub–Committee 1 (3)	1 Morton	1 Bell 2 Wilson		
	Sub: Layden	Sub: Cape Sub: Warwick		
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Licensing Sub–Committee 2 (3)	1 Layden	1 Franklin		1 Betton
	Sub: Morton	Sub: Scarborough Sub: Wilson		
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Licensing Sub–Committee 3 (3)	1 Parsons	1 Cape 2 Stevenson		
	Sub: Bowman S	Sub: Bell		Sub: Betton
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Licensing Sub–Committee 4 (3)	1 Bowman S	1 Scarborough 2 Warwick		
	Sub: Parsons	Sub: Franklin Sub: Stevenson		

#### COMMITTEES / GROUPS NOT APPOINTED BY COUNCIL – APPOINTMENTS MADE BY THE LEADER OR BY OTHER COMMITTEES/GROUPS

	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Executive		<ol> <li>Bradley</li> <li>Glover</li> <li>Martlew</li> <li>Quilter</li> <li>Riddle</li> <li>Tickner</li> </ol>		
Appointn	nents made by the Le	eader		
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Joint Consultative Group		Tickner		
	nents made by the Le	eader (1)		
	CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	INDEPENDENT GROUP
Market Management Group	onts made by the L	1 Bradley 2 Martlew 3 Tickner		

Appointments made by the Leader (3)